IL CCW Info / FAQ

To apply for your Illinois Concealed Carry Permit; visit: CCL4Illinois.Com

Applying for an Illinois Concealed Carry License:

Eligibility Rules:

ILLINOIS RESIDENTS

  • I am at least 21 years old.
  • I have a valid Firearm Owner’s Identification card.
  • I have not been convicted or found guilty of a misdemeanor involving the threat of physical force or violence to any person within the past 5 years.
  • I do not have 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, intoxicating compounds within the past 5 years.
  • I am not subject to a pending arrest warrant, prosecution or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm.
  • I have not been in a residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the past 5 years.
  • You may be eligible if you satisfy the above and no objections are filed by law enforcement. (Section 15)

NON-RESIDENTS

  • I am at least 21 years old.
  • I have not been convicted of any Felony.
  • I have not been adjudicated as a mental defective by a court of law.
  • I have not been involuntarily committed to a facility for the purpose of mental health treatment.
  • I have not been admitted as a voluntary patient in a facility for the purpose of mental health treatment within the past 5 years.
  • I have not been addicted to narcotics.
  • I am not intellectually disabled or developmentally disabled.
  • I am not subject to any active Order of Protection.
  • I have not within the past 5 years been convicted of battery, assault, aggravated assault, violation of an order of protection, or a substantially similar offense in which a firearm was used or possessed.
  • I have not been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic battery or substantially similar offense.
  • I have not been adjudicated a delinquent minor for the commission of an offense that if committed by an adult would be a felony.
  • I have not been convicted or found guilty of a misdemeanor involving the threat of physical force or violence to any person within the past 5 years.
  • I do not have 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, intoxicating compounds within the past 5 years.
  • I am not subject to a pending arrest warrant, prosecution or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm.
  • I have not been in a residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the past 5 years.
  • You may be eligible if you satisfy the above and no objections are filed by law enforcement. (Section 15)

Checklist for Applying:

Requirements Prior to Applying for a Concealed Carry License

ILLINOIS RESIDENTS

  • 16 hours of Concealed Carry firearms training provided by an ISP approved Instructor.
  • Electronic Copy of my training certificate(s). You will be required to upload your electronic certificate during the application process.
  • An Illinois Digital I.D.Java will be required for all of these computer functions to work correctly. To find out if you have the current Java click on this link and then click on “verify java version” to find out if you have Java. AGAIN – YOU MUST HAVE JAVA LOADED ON YOUR PC.Visit the Illinois Digital ID website to obtain a digital ID.

    NOTE: A separate website link is available if you have forgotten your Illinois Digital ID. username and/or password. If you have questions, visit the Illinois Digital ID website FAQ page or call the Central Management Services Help Desk at 1-800-366-8768 for assistance with the Digital ID. Questions regarding the Concealed Carry License application process should be directed to the Illinois State Police at 217-782-7980.

  • A Valid Driver’s License or State Identification card.
  • A valid FOID card.
  • A head and shoulder electronic photograph taken within the last 30 days.
  • Be able to provide the last ten years of residency.
  • Fingerprints – Electronic fingerprints will expedite your application! Specify to the Live Scan vendor that your fingerprint application is for the Concealed Carry application (ORI = IL920707Z, Purpose Code = CCW).NOTE: Applicants will be assigned a transaction control number (TCN) at the time of fingerprinting and will be required to retain that TCN to complete the application.
  • $150.00 payable with a credit card or electronic check.

NON-RESIDENTS

In accordance with 430 ILCS 66/40 (b), out of state residents may be eligible for an Illinois Concealed Carry License if your state meets the definition of substantially similar as established by rule. See 20 Il. Admin. Code 1231.10. Currently, the states identified below have been determined to have laws related to firearm ownership, possession, and carrying that are substantially similar to the requirements to obtain a license under Illinois’ law; and, therefore, may apply for an Concealed Carry License. This list will be updated as additional states are identified as substantially similar. Further Information concerning the regulations for non-resident applications can be found at 20 Il. Admin. Code 1231.110.

  • Hawaii

 

Other requirements if your state meets the substantially similarly definition:

  • 16 hours of Concealed Carry firearms training provided by an ISP approved Instructor.
  • An electronic copy of a valid concealed carry license from my home state.
  • Electronic Copy of my training certificate(s). You will be required to upload your electronic certificate during the application process.
  • A head and shoulder electronic photograph taken within the last 30 days.
  • An Illinois Digital I.D.Java will be required for all of these computer functions to work correctly. To find out if you have the current Java click on this link and then click on “verify java version” to find out if you have Java. AGAIN – YOU MUST HAVE JAVA LOADED ON YOUR PC.Visit the Illinois Digital ID website to obtain a digital ID.

    NOTE: If you have questions, visit the Illinois Digital ID website FAQ page or call the Central Management Services Help Desk at 1-800-366-8768 for assistance with the Digital ID. Questions regarding the Concealed Carry License application process should be directed to the Illinois State Police at 217-782-7980.

  • A Valid Driver’s License or State Identification card.
  • Be able to provide the last ten years of residency.
  • notarized affidavit documenting the applicant’s eligibility under both state and federal laws, the understanding of the laws pertaining to possession and transport of firearms, acknowledgment the applicant is subject to the jurisdiction of the Illinois State Police and the Illinois courts and that the applicant meets the mental health standards in Illinois to obtain a firearm.
  • $300.00 payable with a credit card or electronic check.

 

How will ISP officers and local law enforcement respond to citizens who are carrying weapons after July 9th?

The Illinois State Police will continue to enforce the law in effect after July 9, 2013. Assuming the law is either the version passed by the General Assembly or that amended by the Governor; citizens cannot lawfully carry concealed weapons without a valid Concealed Carry License. Citizens who carry loaded firearms without a Conceal Carry License issued by the Illinois State Police are subject to arrest. All citizens seeking to obtain a Concealed Carry License must have a valid FOID card.

Who needs a CCW license?

Everyone who wants to carry a concealed firearm in Illinois is required to have a CCW license except current peace officers and retired police officers eligible under the Illinois Retired Officer Concealed Carry (IROCC) Program. Retired officers may be eligible to carry under either the IROCC Program or the new CCW law.

Are out-of-state concealed carry permit holders granted reciprocity in Illinois?

No. Out of state residents must obtain an Illinois Concealed Carry License to lawfully carry a concealed firearm in Illinois. In order for out of state residents to be eligible for an Illinois license, their state’s concealed carry license laws must be substantially similar to those of Illinois. The Illinois State Police will establish rules to identify the elements necessary to meet the substantially similar requirement.

What is the cost for a Concealed Carry License?

$150 for 5 years for Illinois residents
$300 for 5 years for non-residents

How does a citizen apply for a Concealed Carry License? When will the applications be available? Where can applications be obtained?

The ISP has 180 days to make applications available to the public. The ISP intends to have applications available via the ISP webpage.

How long will it take a citizen to obtain a Concealed Carry License? 

The ISP will comply with the mandates of the Act. The application will be available within 180 days of the effective date and licenses will be issued 90 days after a qualified application is submitted. Law enforcement agencies will have 30 days to file an objection.

What are the qualifications for a Concealed Carry License?

The applicant must:
•Be at least 21 years of age
•Have a valid FOID card
•Have not been convicted or found guilty in this State or any other state of:
◦A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last 5 years.
◦2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the last 5 years.

•Not be the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification.
•Not have been in a residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last 5 years.
•Submit a completed Concealed Carry License Application.
•Successfully complete 16 hours of firearms training, including classroom and range instruction.

Where can citizens obtain firearms training?

Within 60 days of becoming law, the Act mandates the ISP to begin approval of certified firearms instructors and firearm training courses. The ISP website will provide a registry of instructors and approved classes.

PLEASE NOTE: On-duty ISP Troopers will NOT provide training to citizens, nor will ISP ranges be utilized.

What are the qualifications to become a Concealed Carry Firearms Instructor? 

A person seeking to become a certified Concealed Carry Firearms Instruction shall:
•Be at least 21 years of age.
•Be a legal resident of the United States and be qualified for a concealed carry permit within Illinois.
•Possess a high school diploma or GED certificate.
•Have at least one of the following valid firearms instructor certifications:
◦Certification from a law enforcement agency.
◦Certification from a firearm instructor course offered by a state or federal governmental agency.
◦Certification from a firearm instructor qualification course offered by the Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board.
◦Certification from an entity approved by the Illinois State Police that offers firearm instructor education and training in the use and safety of firearms.

How can I register as an instructor? 

The Illinois State Police will establish rules consistent with the provisions of the Act. As additional information regarding the rule making process becomes available, updates will be posted to our website.

Where can business owners or property owners obtain information regarding required signage? 

The Illinois State Police will establish rules consistent with the provisions of the Act. As additional information regarding the rule making process becomes available, updates will be posted to the ISP website.

Illinois Gun Laws

FOID Cards

Illinois residents wishing to purchase, possess or use firearms generally must have a Firearm Owner’s Identification card. You can download the most current application from the Illinois State Police website Here. There are exceptions to this “must have FOID card to touch a gun/ammunition” rule, including one for individuals receiving firearm training instruction from a FOID cardholder, but generally speaking, you need to get one if you don’t have one yet.

Your spouse / significant other / kids / grandkids should all have a FOID cards as well, to preclude issues of them borrowing your car with a gun and/or ammunition inside. Even a single .22 caliber rimfire cartridge rolling around under the seat can spell big trouble for your loved one should they run into the wrong police officer / sheriff’s deputy.

Transporting Firearms in Illinois

Illinois does not have conventional carry of firearms as forty-nine other states do. We have something called “fanny pack carry” which is (please suppress your giggles) the carry of an unloaded, encased firearm by a FOID card holder. .

Don’t take our word for it. Browse the Illinois State Police website’s document library. Download the Illinois State Police “Transport Your Gun Legally” flyer. Print it out and put it in your fanny pack or other case where you transport your firearm.

Oh, and Illinois has a number of cities with local restrictions more stringent than the state-level regulations. Check the Illinois State Police website (here)  (create link) for more information on local ordinances. (Ordinances listed as of January 2009: Ashmore, Aurora, Beecher, Bolingbrook, Calumet Park, Carbondale, Carol Stream, Casey, Channahon, Chicago, Cicero, Crest Hill, Elgin, Evanston, Flossmoor, Grayslake, Hazel Crest, Johnsburg, Loves Park, McHenry, Morton, Mount Prospect, New Lenox, Northbrook, Oak Park, O’Fallon, Orland Park, Peoria, Posen, Riverdale, Schaumburg, Shorewood, Skokie, Sleepy Hollow, Village of Mokena, Wheaton, Wilmette, Woodridge.)

PDFS:

 Illinois Gun Laws 2012

Transport Your Firearm Legally Pamphlet

Transferring / Selling Firearms Pamphlet